The unexpected Indian-ness of Mt. Titlis – Switzerland

During my trip to Switzerland, I planned for a trip to the famous Mt. Titlis. I guess every Indian who go to Switzerland, do the same planning that I did and visit Mt. Titlis. It seems that for some reason this place has titillated the travel buds of every Indian. Switzerland is the top honeymoon destination for Indian couples planning a foreign trip, and it was clearly visible on Mt. Titlis. It seems that I am in some hill station in India ( not underplaying the beauty of India in any way), just because of the amount of Indians there.

IMG_20161009_094106_HDR
The view of grasslands

The easiest way to get on top is through rope-way. The ropeway is from Engelberg up to Mt. Titlis. The cost of the return ticket of the cable car is 89 CHF, though you get some discount on the Swiss pass. The first cable car goes up at 8:30 am, while the last one to come down is at 4:50pm, so better plan your day trip accordingly.  TheThe ropeway was one of its kind, I have never seen such thing in India. Whenever We want to go and see snow in India on some hill station during summers, we have to take a long drive up the hill and get frustrated, stuck in traffic. This ropeway was like a path to heaven!! It was so long, that from grasslands it just takes you so high that suddenly you are above clouds and when you come out of the spell of magical views you will start noticing snow around you.

The Ropeway journey was some 10 minutes and the cabin was full of Indians. Around 30 Indians in that cabin all speaking Hindi. I suddenly felt that I am back in India. When the cabin stopped and we have to change to a different cabin, it reminded me of Rajiv Chowk metro station in Delhi. ( How everyone rushes to change the metro ;))

The sights from the ropeway were truly mesmerizing and on reaching the top, you will find yourself in a playfield of snow. We passed through a tunnel of ice and stopped to gives some poses. After passing through the tunnel the whole area is covered with soft snow. You can play all day long with your friends in the snow.

Surprisingly I saw a lot of things translated into Hindi. Ice flyer was translated into Hindi and it sounded a bit funny, and after that, I saw “Shah Rukh” with “Kajol” from “Dilwale dhulaniya le jaenge”. So, all the Shah Rukh fans, go and get a photo with Shah Rukh in Switzerland. After indulging in Bollywood it’s time for some Indian food, when we came down the Mt. Titlis, we saw a shop selling Indian Street items, a mouth-watering Samosa and a spicy Vada pav are what attracted my attention. The feeling of having Indian food there was awesome (unfortunately I have no pics of them)

1495741455_ddlj
Shah Rukh Magic

So a trip that I was expecting of an exotic foreign place turns out to be an Indian paradise hill station. Nevertheless, it was the best part of my Switzerland trip.

Published by priyank aggarwal

I am an MBA by profession who got addicted to traveling for a while now. Traveling around the world has taught me different aspects of life like time management, getting through tough phases, self-motivation. I have traveled across Europe, South East Asia and almost all parts of India and some neighboring countries. I have a dream of traveling to all 195 countries of the world. My style of traveling is backpacking and surviving in different countries on tight budgets. I have traveled in Europe with a budget of fewer than 2000 rs per day including stay and in South East Asia with around 1200rs per day (yes that too includes stay). I want people to know that traveling doesn't require huge sum of money, but a zeal and passion for travel.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started